Wings n’ Things

IMG_3511

So, how about that superbowl? As everyone knows, I am not a fan of televized sports. I love to play sports, I love to go and watch sports live. But on tv? Meh. However, I did go to a superbowl party this past Sunday. Come on guys, there’s food. Of course I’m going to a superbowl party. There was, in fact, tons of tasty foods, friendly people and, oh yeah, the game. What. Happened. I was totally rooting for my bro-in-Omaha Peyton. Poor guy. That was an embarassing game.

whomp whomp. emo mannings.

whomp whomp. emo mannings.

Ok, I’m done pretending I care about sports or know what I’m talking about. What I do care about and know a little about is food. At one of my many offices (ah the joy of subcontracting) there was held a pre-superbowl superbowl party! Since it fell on the one day that I was going to grace that office with my presence, I decided to try my hand at some superbowl food. I chose wings. I’d kind of been wanting to try them out for a while anyways.

IMG_3506

Being me, I wanted to make about 8 different types of wings. But, given that I’m not running a wing restaurant and I only had limited space in the fridge, I went with 36 wings and three flavors. Shout out to Bon Appetit for having a slideshow of delicious sounding wing and drumstick recipes! I chose Bourbon Glazed Wings, Sweet and Spicy Chicken, and Crispy Baked Chicken Wings (with Franks, of course). I also whipped up some blue cheese dip (ok it was more of a sauce, I’ll tell you how to avoid that, though).

IMG_3528

Bourbon Glazed Wings

– 2 tbsp butter
– 1 cup chopped onion
– 3 garlic cloves peeled and minced
– 1 cup bourbon, divided (i actually used scotch and some applejack)
– 1 cup ketchup
– 1/2 cup hot pepper sauce (of your choice, i used this cayenned sauce that had been hanging out in my pantry a while)
– 1/4 cup tomato paste
– 3 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
– 12 wings (3-4 lbs)

Directions

1.  Melt butter in a heavy large saucepan over medium high heat.  Add the onion and garlic and saute until golden, about five minutes. 

2. Add 3/4 cup of the bourbon/booze of choice and boil until most of the liquid is absorbed, 6-8 minutes.

3.  Whisk in the rest of those ingredients!  The rest of the bourbon, the ketchup, that spicy sauce, tomato paste, and the sugar and mix until well combined.  Bring all that to a boil and then reduce to a simmer and let that cook for about 10 minutes. 

*WARNING* Do NOT lean over this and breathe in deeply.  Only fools who want to have a coughing fit do this.  Fools like me.  This warning also applies to while washing these dishes with hot water.

4.  Once it’s done simmering, remove from the heat and let cool. 

5.  Place the chicken wings in a glass baking dish and cover with the sauce, toss those puppies around to well coat.  Cover and put in the fridge overnight.  Or, if you forget, all day while you’re at work is also effective!

Final step!  Preheat oven to 375.  Put the wings on cooling racks that you’ve put on top of rimmed baking sheets.  (If you value your hearing, those rims are an important safeguard against your smoke alarms going off.  Lessons learned, guys.  Lessons learned.)  Spread any remaining sauce over those wings, sprinkle on some salt and pepper and put in the oven for about 45 minutes, or until cooked through.  I’m pretty sure I flipped them halfway through.  It seemed fair.

img_3476

Yum.

Sweet & Spicy Wings

– 1/2 cup Sriracha
1/2 cup unseasoned rice vinegar
1/4 cup mirin
1/4 cup berry jam
kosher salt
– 12 wings (3-4 lbs)

Directions

1.  Combine the sriracha, rice vinegar, mirin, and jelly in a heavy saucepan and bring to a boil over high heat.  Reduce heat to medium and simmer until the mixture is reduced to 3/4 cup.  This takes anywhere from 10-20 minutes.  Remove from heat. If you want to do this in advance make sure to rewarm the sauce before using with the wings.

2.  Put the wings in a big ole bag and season with the salt.  Refridgerate for 1 hour.

3.  Preheat the oven to 450.  Dry the wings (the salt will have extracted some water) and place on cooling racks over rimmed cooking sheets. 

4. Roast those wings until the skin is browned and crispy, about 40-50 minutes.  If you aren’t going to use them right away, let cool, cover and chill.  Rewarm them in the oven at 450 for 10-15 minutes before continuing. 

5.  Combine the hot drumsticks and 1/4 cup of the sauce in a large bowl.  Toss to coat.  Put those babies back on the racks/sheets and roast for another 8-9 minutes. Brush with any extra sauce and serve.

img_3516

Franks Crispy Baked Chicken Wings

– 1 tbsp butter, melted
– 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
– 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1/4 cup Frank’s sauce

– 2 tbsps vegetable oil
– 1 tbsp kosher salt
– 1/2 tsp ground pepper
– 12 wings (3-4 lbs)

1. Mix the first four ingredients in a small bowl and whisk until well combined.  Whisk in Frank.  He’ll like it.

You can do the sauce in advance, but rewarm it before using!

2.  Preheat the oven to 400. Toss the wings with the last three ingredients and spread out on the rack/sheets.  Cook until the skin is crispy, 45-50 minutes.

FINALLY – coat with that delicious Frank’s sauce. 

img_3519

Blue Cheese Dip

– 5 tbsps finely chopped red onion
– 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
– 1 tsp sugar
pinch of kosher salt
– 1/8 – 1/4 cup buttermilk (start with the 1/8th)
– 1/4 cup sour cream
– 2 tbsp chopped fresh chives
– 1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese
freshly ground black pepper

1.  Put the finely chopped onion in a bowl and cover with the white wine vinegar and the sugar.  Mix up and let sit for an hour.  This quick pickles your onions.  (Quick pickled onion rings are great for salads!)

2. Mix everything in a bowl. I know, complicated.  If it’s not creamy enough, add more buttermilk.  I found that 1/4 cup was wayyyy too much.

Enjoy!

PS My wings didn’t end up that crispy because I had to store them overnight and i reheated them in a crockpot (layers divided by foil) since there wasn’t an oven at work. They were still tasty, though!

And, because it’s almost Valentine’s Day:

img_3503

2 responses to “Wings n’ Things

  1. I made wings for the first time for the Super Bowl too! We grilled them and they were delish! I decided to separate the wing from the thigh which was the hardest part for me– I wasn’t always able to cut right through the cartilage instead of the bone.

Leave a Reply

